New ponderings

I’ve pretty much decided not to be a “gun rights activist” any more.   The English major in me is coming out, I guess.

I don’t want guns to have any more rights than, say, pencils.  Or automobiles.  Or refrigerators.  Or hammers.

What I do want, and what I will continue to fight for, is MY right to defend myself and others.  I’ll do it without firing a shot if possible, but will not hesitate if that’s what it comes down to.  If I can drop an attacker and hold him, even if at gunpoint, until police arrive, so much the better.  Saves everyone a lot of cleanup time, though it means we taxpayers have to pay to hold him.

Those who think I should not have that right have obviously never been raped at knifepoint.  Or had their children threatened.  Or feared for their lives.  I choose not to be a victim.  I don’t need a politician to decide that for me, and, as the saying goes, when seconds count, the police are just minutes away.

Published in: on September 20, 2007 at 10:56 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://amcit.wordpress.com/2007/09/20/new-ponderings/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

