Swear an Oath in the PRIMARY? Surely you JEST!

Is it any wonder the Republican Party in Virginia is losing voters faster than Congress is losing Republican members?

This came from opengovva.org:

Voters in Virginia’s Feb. 12 Republican presidential primary will have to sign an oath swearing loyalty to the eventual GOP ticket. The State Board of Elections on Monday approved a state Republican Party request that all who apply for a GOP primary ballot first vow in writing to vote for the Republican presidential nominee next fall. The SBE also voted to refer two complaints about campaign advertising in two northern Virginia state Senate races to the commonwealth’s attorney’s office in Fairfax County for further investigation. There is no practical way to enforce the GOP covenant in the constitutionally guaranteed secrecy of the voting booth. Yet the oath is a concept Virginia’s GOP has considered for years.
http://www.inrich.com/cva/ric/news/vaapwire.apx.-content-articles-AP-2007-11-26-0122.html

Since once again I expect I’ll be voting AGAINST a candidate, this is a difficult moral decision.  I believe it is my responsibility and duty to vote when I’m able.  I doubt I will support the Republican ticket next fall, but I know I won’t support the Democratic ticket if the nominee is any of the current front-runners.  In our perverted system, a write-in or independent vote is a lost vote.  Therefore, it seems (as of today) I’ll vote for a Republican, though holding my nose all the way.

Anyone else wishing for December, 2012?

Published in: on November 27, 2007 at 7:17 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://amcit.wordpress.com/2007/11/27/swear-an-oath-in-the-primary-surely-you-jest/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Well, for the first time in my adult life, I did not vote for any presidential candidate in the last election. I voted for all the other offices (state, congressional, etc) and all the ballot issues and referendums, but left a big old blank on the Presidential choices.

    THAT was the best our country had to offer? Sorry, not good enough.

    SAD SAD SAD isn’t it. I’m tired of the “lesser of 2 evils” approach. There was not one candidate listed that I felt I could vote for, so I didn’t vote for any of them. Right or wrong, it was my choice and my silent protest. And by the looks of our choices in 2008, I’ll do it again.

    I’m a bit curious why the Republicans don’t disgust you just as much as the Democrats? Equal Opportunity for me, I can no longer tolerate their overall uselessness.

  2. Oh, the repugnicans disgust me at least as much as the socialocrats. However, most of the candidates I’ve at least been able to agree with on a majority of their positions, or I honestly believed the country would set them straight on things we disagree on (gay marriage, abortion rights, gun rights, etc.).

    Not any more.


Leave a Reply

