Small people

I’d always admired Chevy Chase’s comedic talent.  But apparently he’s a very small, hateful person.  Quoted today as saying about Tina Fey’s portrayal on Saturday Night Live:

“I thought it was extraordinary how well she played her and much she looked like her. I’d just like her — personally I felt we didn’t need the Hillary stuff — I’d like her to go even harder,” the former “SNL” star told MSNBC’s “Morning Joe” show.

“I want her to decimate this woman. This woman is, I can’t believe there hasn’t been more about it. … It’s just unbelievable to me this woman is actually running for vice president,” he continued.

Can you believe this?  It’s absolutely one thing to dislike someone’s stance, or politics, or even personality.  But to want to “decimate” a person, not an idea?  Come on, now.  I guess I still expected to see some class from people, but there is none here.

Why do people have to get their kicks from tearing down others.  Not because it’s Palin – she’s a big girl in a big game and made the decision to put herself in the public eye.  But I can’t imagine setting out to decimate another human being.  Much as I dislike many politicians, I can’t even imagine a hatred like this.

Sure, he has the right to say what he wants, but this is a case of venom masquerading as entertainment, and I find it disgusting.

Published in: on September 16, 2008 at 10:33 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://amcit.wordpress.com/2008/09/16/small-people/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

