Can’t get my head around this one

This excerpt comes from The Price of Liberty blog; the entry is “A sermon I would like to preach.”

We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness. — That to secure these rights, Governments are instituted among Men, deriving their just powers from the consent of the governed.

The importance of this event was profound. Not only in a historical and political sense, but also in a biblical sense. Some of the signers of this document were Christians. Some were not. However, the ideas set forth in the Declaration of Independence, as well as our Constitution, represent the closest attempt in the modern world to institute a biblical form of government. These ideas have a profound biblical basis.   (emphasis mine)

I’m having a bit of trouble with this part … and yet it appears much of the rest of the entry is interesting reading, whether or not you agree with it.  Let me state up front I find it based in the same fault of logic I see here.  Where does it say “their Creator” equals “God”, or “Christ”?  The entire sermon is built on this faulty foundation.

So on to my problem.  How does this paragraph illustrate an attempt to institute a biblical form of government?  I guess if you accept this premise, you can accept the remainder of the sermon at face value.  I tried looking up a few of the other passages, and frankly, I don’t get that our founding documents were based in them.

Still, the sermon has a point that endures, despite the premise.  The point I take away is that those who use their religion to promote one candidate or another pollute their religion.  (This from the woman who believes Christianity and Islam are the two great evils of the world, mind you — just so you know where I’m coming from.)  To me it’s a pretty strong argument FOR separation of church and state.

And I’ll define “Creator” in my way, thankyouverymuch.

Published in: on October 12, 2008 at 6:49 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://amcit.wordpress.com/2008/10/12/186/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

