Holy Crap, two Webb responses!

For someone who purports to be a leader, I am dismayed by the “everyone else did it” tone of this letter.  Better to tell me WHY you voted for or against someone.  Leaders don’t just do what everyone else did.

This is the second response I’ve had from Webb during the 111th.  Guess he realizes elections will be here sooner than he thinks.    Still waiting on responses to the 6-8 contacts I sent prior to the 111th.

Dear Friend:

Thank you for contacting my office regarding the nomination of Eric Holder to serve as U.S. Attorney General.

As you may know, the U.S. Senate confirmed Mr. Holder by a vote of 75 to 21 on February 2, 2009. There was a widespread consensus that Mr. Holder’s skill, knowledge, and professional experiences inside and outside of government all warranted his confirmation by the Senate.

Thank you once again for contacting me and my staff on this important matter. I hope that you will continue to share your views with us in the years ahead.

I would also invite you to visit my website at www.webb.senate.gov for regular updates about my activities and positions on matters that are important to Virginia and our nation.

Sincerely,
Jim Webb

United States Senator

So Holder’s a good guy, eh?  Note Webb never mentions his role in the Rich pardon, nor does he touch on Holder’s civil rights stance (i.e. restrict rights as much as possible until SCOTUS steps in).  He doesn’t cite a single characteristic or instance in which Holder obtained “skill, knowledge, and professional experiences …” nor does he mention character at all.

And whatever makes him think I’m his “friend” is a mystery.  I’m a constituent.   If I met him, we might become friends despite our philosophical differences, though I doubt it, as what I see from him is arrogance — not one of my favorite characteristics.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://amcit.wordpress.com/2009/02/08/holy-crap-twos-webb-responses/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

