Cox Customer Service, try 2

Try 2.  Below is the transcript of my chat this afternoon.  Another "sorry, we can't help you."

Finally spent 45 minutes this afternoon after calling and farting around with their automated "help agent"
(do they know what "help" means?).  Got frustrated and entered "0" a few dozen times on the touch-tone,
then they gave me a human.  Who, by the way, said he'd seen this problem earlier.  Elevated it, and the
next-level guy said he hadn't seen it before, but it'd be fixed by Monday.  We'll see.

Just think of the frustration they could save (the customers, who PAY them) if they'd offer an option to
contact someone from the outset.

Anyway, another "helpful" on-line chat with an "analyst".....
===============================================================

Problem = Cox.net has lost all the e-mail in my mailbox prior to July 8 at 0455.

How do I get them restored?
TicketID = xxxx71
Picked up user from queue: chsi general
user AMCIT has entered room
analyst Jenny has entered room
Jenny> Welcome to Cox High Speed Internet Service Online Technical Support. My

name is Jenny and I will be happy to assist you with your concern.

Jenny> I understand that you are having difficulties with your Cox e-mail account. Is that correct?

AMCIT> No. It’s working fine now. The problem is that every e-mail delivered prior to 0455 on 8 July shows “unavailable” “unavailable” and 12/31/2069, 7pm.
AMCIT> I need to restore those e-mails.
AMCIT> That’s five years worht of information
Jenny> Did you have your cox account disconnected before?
AMCIT> No, and it’s not disconnected now. The e-mails are just not there.

Jenny> Do you have the ” Leave a copy in the server ” option active at this time?
AMCIT> I don’t know. Where is that option? I’ll check.

Jenny> Please follow these steps in order to set up the option to leave a copy of the messages on server in Outlook Express:

a. Open Outlook Express, click on [Tools] in the menu bar.

b. Click on the [Accounts] option from the list.

c. Highlight your e-mail address in the list and click on the [Properties] button.

d. Click on the [Advanced] tab and put a check mark on the [Leave a copy of messages on server] box.

e. Click on [Apply] and then click on the [OK] button.
AMCIT> I don’t use outlook express.
AMCIT> I access directly through the webmail server.
Jenny> Wich e-mail client you are using?

AMCIT> Cox.net. I click on webmail.east.cox.net, enter my address and password, and my mailbox opens up.
AMCIT> It doesn’t go through any other POP
Jenny> Are you at home right now or in a different location?

AMCIT> At home.

Jenny> First, I suggest you verify your “Trash Folder”, “Spam Folder” and all the folders you have in WebMail.

AMCIT> The e-mails are all there. They’re “unavailable” They’re empty. They’re not in trash. They’re not in spam. They’re just empty. Lost. Gone. Nothingavailable.
AMCIT> They’re in “inbox” – the ones that should be.

Jenny> A most common cause of the difficulty you are experiecing is that your e-mail address does not have the option to leave a copy of messages on the server. When this happens, all your messages will be stored at the computer where you open Outlook Express or any other e-mail client that has been configured to receive e-mail from your Cox.net e-mail address. Keep in mind that Cox does not provide support to any other e-mail client that is not Outlook Express or Windows Mail, because we do not have the license agreement to support them. If you want to set this option on your e-mail client, I suggest you contact the official support for further assistance.

AMCIT> Other folders have the same issue. Everything before July 8 is gone-empty-kaput.
Jenny> Have you moved recently?

AMCIT> You ARE the official support. I DO NOT USE OUTLOOK EXPRESS.
AMCIT> NO. Not unless 6 years is recent.

Jenny> When you leave copy of messages in the server, they will count towards the quota usage, and you will need to access WebMail from time to time to free up space.
AMICT> I’m only at 24 percent………………
AMCIT> Or was, until COX lost ALL my e-mail
AMCIT> Now, it’s probably 1 percent — only 63 messages have content.

Jenny> The options to set up the ” Leave a copy ” option is using Outlook Express or Windows mail.
AMCIT> I ONLY use webmail.

Jenny> If after reviewing the information above you are still unable to retrieve your missing e-mails. Unfortunately, we cannot retrieve that information because we do not have access to any personal information content from our customers e-mail addresses. I hope you understand, I am really sorry about this.
AMCIT> Who can I call?
AMCIT> Sorry doesn’t cut it. I need that info.
AMCIT> Please provide a contact number.
Jenny> You can contact the Local Office at: 1-800-234-3993
AMCIT> How do I log this chat?
Jenny> You can copy and paste in a Word Pad or Note pad.  (note, a normal “cut and paste” would not work. I’m literate enough to have tried this.)
AMCIT> it won’t copy
Jenny> I can send you this information to your cox.net e-mail address.
AMCIT> thank you. That would be wonderful. (gives e-mail address)
Jenny> Hold on a second, please. I appreciate your patience.

(edited to correct spacing for readability)

Published in: on July 10, 2009 at 5:09 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://amcit.wordpress.com/2009/07/10/cox-customer-service-try-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Wow, Jenny needs a new career… one that does not require in-depth understanding of the English language and relatively simple IT terminology. I saw a sign at McDonalds seeking “crew leaders” the other day, you should mention it to her next time you chat.

  2. 2 Years later, I am now having the exact same problem with Cox. Did you ever get this issue resolved??

  3. @Deeda, no, I never did. Since then, none of my interactions with “customer service” have been any better.

  4. Heya! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any problems with hackers?

    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing many months of hard work
    due

    to no backup. Do you have any methods to stop hackers?


Leave a Reply

