Politicians sure do tend to “assume” responsibility

I have been reading a lot of political material lately.  Surprising, eh?

Recently it struck me that politicians – well, in truth, a lot of “leaders” – tend to issue statements in which they “assume” responsibility.

Seems that seldom do they “accept” responsibility*.  Even less often do they admit culpability.

“Assuming” responsibility lets them be magnanimous.  In effect, it says “I’m not responsible – that poor schmuck over there is – but I’m such a big person I’ll assume the responsibility from him and let him off the hook.”

It goes hand-in-hand with issuing non-apologies — you know, the ones that say “I’m sorry you were offended.” rather than “I’m sorry I said something offensive.”

___________________

*Note:  this statement is based on my impressions; I certainly did not do any kind of research to tell whether one or the other word was more popular.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://amcit.wordpress.com/2011/12/30/politicians-sure-do-tend-to-assume-responsibility/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

