Is Jim Webb always this stupid?

As I’ve remarked time and again, I wrote Jim Webb and Mark Warner early on to oppose the nominations of Clinton and Salazar on constitutional grounds.

I guess I should be thrilled I received a reply from Webb?   Never mind that it IGNORED the issue I raised, and instead addressed an issue that I believe to be irrelevant because I have no faith in the character of Bill or Hillary Clinton.

Webb’s response:

Dear Ms. xxxxx:

Thank you for contacting my office regarding the nomination of Hillary Clinton to be Secretary of State.  I appreciate your taking the time to share your views with me.

On December 12, the Clinton Foundation and the Obama Presidential Transition Team signed a Memorandum of Understanding, which was designed to allay the concerns regarding President Clinton‘s activities with respect to the Clinton Foundation and Senator Clinton‘s ability to serve as Secretary of State.

President Clinton has published all of the Foundation’s past contributors, and agreed to publish the names of all future contributors  to his Foundation; to forego his solicitation of sponsorship funds to the Clinton Global Initiative; to incorporate CGI as an entity separate from his Foundation; to forego foreign gatherings of CGI; to forego foreign government contributions to CGI; and to have any new foreign government contributions and increases in foreign government contributions reviewed in advance by career ethics officials at the State Department. Since the signing of the MOU, the Clinton Foundation has volunteered the names of more than 200,000 donors.  This issue has been looked at carefully and the MOU will ensure that transparency is paramount and there will not be a conflict of interest.

As you may know, on January 21, 2009, the Senate overwhelmingly voted to confirm Hillary Clinton as the Secretary of State.  I supported her nomination and believe Secretary Clinton is well qualified for the job.

As a member of the Senate Committee on Foreign Relations, I appreciate having the benefit of your views.  I would also invite you to visit my website at www.webb.senate.gov for regular updates about my activities and positions on matters that are important to Virginia and our nation.

Thank you once again for contacting me.

Sincerely,
Jim Webb

United States Senator

JW:nb

Please do not reply. This is not a working email address.

I’m not sure which I despise most — not responding, or responding to someone else’s concerns.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://amcit.wordpress.com/2009/01/27/is-jim-webb-always-this-stupid/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

